Member Spotlight:

Elysia

Elysia Segal Actress / Costumed Interpreter New York Transit Museum

Elysia Segal is an actress, Senior Costumed Interpreter at the New York Transit Museum, Living Historian at the New-York Historical Society, and a board member of the International Museum Theatre Alliance. She has written and performed as numerous historical characters including a citizen-scientist from 1880, a train conductor from 1917, a journalist at the 1964 World's Fair, and a personification of the iconic "Madonna of the Trail" statues. She has also created a number of educational family shows on topics such as the history of Grand Central Terminal, electricity in the subway (Time Warner grant recipient), the MTA's Music Under New York program, and even an Epic Rap Battle about weather preparedness and sustainability!

No stranger to interactive science and history, Elysia has also performed at the Bronx/Central Park Zoos, led ghost tours through Greenwich Village, played characters at Disney World and won first place at the INTEL International Science and Engineering Fair. A graduate of NYU Tisch, she has additionally performed in numerous musicals, films and theatrical workshops and is a member of AAM, IMTAL, ALHFAM, DAR, Actors' Equity and SAG-AFTRA. ElysiaSegal.com

NYCMER is a volunteer, non-profit organization, led by a board of trustees nominated by members to represent our diverse field.

 

Elections take place each spring and the results are announced at our annual conference in May. If you are interested in learning more about the board, please contact info@nycmer.org. Below is a list of the current Board members: 

 

Officers

President: Charlotte Martin

president@nycmer.org

 

Vice President: Dawnette Samuels

vicepresident@nycmer.org

 

Secretary and Peer Group Liaison: Sierra Van Ryck deGroot

info@nycmer.org

 

Treasurer: Kira Lacks

treasurer@nycmer.org

 

Appointed Trustees

Archivist: Lacey Flint

archivist@nycmer.org

 

Membership Coordinator: Sarah Maldonado

membership@nycmer.org

 

Event and Job Listings Coordinator: Anthea Song

postings@nycmer.org

 

Resources and Social Media Coordinator: Araya Henry

resources@nycmer.org

 

Website Coordinator: Akash Sharma

web@nycmer.org

 

Trustees-at-Large

Edna Gonzales

Jamie Lawyer

Leah Golubchick

Leigh Wells

Melissa Gerstein

Michelle Friedman

Schuyler Schuler

Stephanie Zank

Taylor Vecchio

Zahra Ahmed

 

Learn more about the board below:

 

Akash  Sharma

Daily Operations Specialist

New York Hall of Science

asharma@nysci.org

Anthea Song

Associate Manager, Public Programs

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum

asong@guggenheim.org

Araya Henry

Museum Educator: Youth Programs

Hudson River Museum

ahenry@hrm.org

Charlotte Martin

Manager of Access Initiatives

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

president@nycmer.org

Dawnette Samuels

Museum Educator

Rubin Museum of Art

dsamuels@rubinmuseum.org

Edna Gonzales

Conservation Educator

Queens Zoo (WCS)

3478042490

egonzales@wcs.org

Jamie Lawyer

Educational Resources Coordinator

Rubin Museum of Art

2126205000

jlawyer@rubinmuseum.org

Kira Lacks

Assistant Director of College Events

Teachers College, Columbia University

treasurer@nycmer.org

Lacey Flint

Archivist and Curator of Research Collections

The Explorers Club

212-628-8383-28

lflint@explorers.org

Leah Golubchick

Manager, Middle and High School Programs

Youth Initiatives at AMNH

212-496-3529

lgolubchick@amnh.org

Leigh  Wells

Deputy Director for Programs and Operations

Community-Word Project

212-962-3820

leighflet@gmail.com

Melissa Gerstein

6463695247

mgerstein@nymer.org

Michelle Friedman

Head of Education and Academic Initiatives

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum

203-438-4519-146

mfriedman@aldrichart.org

Sarah Maldonado

Program Director

The Child Center of NY

sarah.grace.maldonado@gmail.com

Schuyler Schuler

New-York Historical Society

schuyler.schuler@nyhistory.org

Sierra Van Ryck DeGroot

Education Assistant

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum

7326180452

svanryckdegroot@aldrichart.org

Stephanie Zank

Educator

Museum of Chinese in America

626-632-4857

stephanieannand@gmail.com

Taylor Vecchio

Educator

Onassis Foundation

5166721674

tvecchio@voicesadvance.com

Zahra Ahmed

Manager of School Programs

(917) 409-1207

zahmed@cmany.org