Member Spotlight:

Sarah

Sarah Maldonado Program Director The Child Center of NY

Sarah is the Program Director for the Child Center of NY after school program at Edward Bleeker JHS 185 in Flushing. She earned a Master of Professional Studies in Environmental Education and Interpretation from SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry (ESF), to pursue her long term goal of providing environmental and science education to urban youth and communities. Sarah has previously worked for the American Museum of Natural History, the Queens Zoo (part of the Wildlife Conservation Society), New York State Parks, the Montezuma Audubon Center, Beaver Lake Nature Center, ESF Outreach, Alley Pond Environmental Center, AmeriCorps NCCC, NYC Parks Department, the Boy Scouts of America and the NYC Department of Education.

NYCMER is a volunteer, non-profit organization, led by a board of trustees nominated by members to represent our diverse field.

 

Elections take place each spring and the results are announced at our annual conference in May. If you are interested in learning more about the board, please contact info@nycmer.org. Below is a list of the current Board members: 

 

Officers

President: Kinneret Kohn

Vice President: Kira Lacks

Secretary and Peer Group Liaison: Katie Henry

Treasurer: Erin Shaw´╗┐

 

Appointed Trustees

Archivist: Lacey Flint

Membership Coordinator: Sarah Maldonado

Resources and Social Media Coordinator: Rachel Ropeik

Website Coordinator: Akash Sharma

 

Trustees-at-Large

Charissa Ruth

Charlotte Martin

Claire Buckley

Daniel O'Shoney

Danielle Hillanbrand

Jennifer Patton

Leah Golubchick

Leigh Wells

Melissa Gerstein

Zahra Ahmed

 

 

Learn more about the board below:

 

Akash  Sharma

Daily Operations Specialist

New York Hall of Science

asharma@nysci.org

Charissa Ruth

Freelance Educator

8595528140

charissa.ruth@gmail.com

Charlotte Martin

Museum Educator for Access Programs

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

cmartin@intrepidmuseum.org

Claire Buckley

Conservation Educator

Prospect Park Zoo/Wildlife Conservation Society

(718) 399-7339-324

clairecbuckley@gmail.com

Daniel  O'Shoney

Coordinator of Professional Development

Wildlife Conservation Society

718-265-2671

doshoney@wcs.org

Danielle Hillanbrand

Student at Brooklyn College

3028417186

danihillud@gmail.com

Erin  Shaw

Coordinator of Youth Education Initiatives & BCAP

Brooklyn Public Library

718-230-2753

EShaw@bklynlibrary.org

Jennifer Patton

Educator

New-York Historical Society

6172568638

jpatton124@gmail.com

Katie Henry

School & Family Programs Manager

Friends of the High Line

katie.henry@thehighline.org

Kinneret Kohn

Manager of Teen Programs

New-York Historical Society

KKohn@nycmer.org

Kira Lacks

Public Programs Manager

American Museum of Natural History

klacks@nycmer.org

Lacey Flint

Archivist and Curator of Research Collections

The Explorers Club

212-628-8383-28

lflint@explorers.org

Leah Golubchick

After School Coordinator

Youth Initiatives at AMNH

212-496-3529

lgolubchick@amnh.org

Leigh  Wells

Deputy Director for Programs and Operations

Community-Word Project

212-962-3820

leighflet@gmail.com

Melissa Gerstein

Manager, Public Programs

Bard Graduate Center

2125013011

melissa.gerstein@bgc.bard.edu

Rachel Ropeik

Manager of Public Engagement

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum

rropeik@guggenheim.org

Sarah Maldonado

Program Director

The Child Center of NY

Sarah.grace.maldonado@gmail.com

Zahra  Ahmed

Manager of School Programs

(917) 409-1207

zahmed@cmany.org