Member Spotlight:

Barbara

Barbara Johnson Stemler Director, Access Initiatives Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

Barbara Johnson Stemler oversees accessible programs and resources for children and adults with disabilities as the Director of Access Initiatives at the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum. These educational programs serve diverse audiences, including current and former military service members and visitors who are blind or partially sighted, Deaf or hard-of-hearing, as well as individuals who have autism, intellectual disabilities, mobility restrictions, dementia, and behavioral challenges.

She is on the Museum Access Consortium (MAC) steering committee and actively participates in the NYCMER Access Peer Group.

Barbara earned her M.S. Ed. at Bank Street College of Education, specializing in Museum Education and Special Education. She earned her B.A. in Art History from Hobart & William Smith Colleges, where she also completed a NY State teacher certification program for Childhood General and Special Education. She is currently enrolled in a Change Leadership certification program through Cornell University. 

NYCMER is a volunteer, non-profit organization, led by a board of trustees nominated by members to represent our diverse field.

 

Elections take place each spring and the results are announced at our annual conference in May. If you are interested in learning more about the board, please contact info@nycmer.org. Below is a list of the current Board members: 

 

Officers

President: Charlotte Martin

president@nycmer.org

 

Vice President: Dawnette Samuels

vicepresident@nycmer.org

 

Secretary and Peer Group Liaison: Sierra Van Ryck deGroot

info@nycmer.org

 

Treasurer: Kira Lacks

treasurer@nycmer.org

 

Appointed Trustees

Archivist: Lacey Flint

archivist@nycmer.org

 

Membership Coordinator: Sarah Maldonado

membership@nycmer.org

 

Event and Job Listings Coordinator: Anthea Song

postings@nycmer.org

 

Resources and Social Media Coordinator: Araya Henry

resources@nycmer.org

 

Website Coordinator: Akash Sharma

web@nycmer.org

 

Trustees-at-Large

Edna Gonzales

Jamie Lawyer

Leah Golubchick

Leigh Wells

Melissa Gerstein

Michelle Friedman

Schuyler Schuler

Stephanie Zank

Taylor Vecchio

Zahra Ahmed

 

Learn more about the board below:

 

Akash  Sharma

Daily Operations Specialist

New York Hall of Science

asharma@nysci.org

Anthea Song

Associate Manager, Public Programs

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum

asong@guggenheim.org

Araya Henry

Museum Educator: Youth Programs

Hudson River Museum

ahenry@hrm.org

Charlotte Martin

Manager of Access Initiatives

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

president@nycmer.org

Dawnette Samuels

Museum Educator

Rubin Museum of Art

dsamuels@rubinmuseum.org

Edna Gonzales

Conservation Educator

Queens Zoo (WCS)

3478042490

egonzales@wcs.org

Kira Lacks

Assistant Director of College Events

Teachers College, Columbia University

treasurer@nycmer.org

Lacey Flint

Archivist and Curator of Research Collections

The Explorers Club

212-628-8383-28

lflint@explorers.org

Leah Golubchick

Manager, Middle and High School Programs

Youth Initiatives at AMNH

212-496-3529

lgolubchick@amnh.org

Leigh  Wells

Deputy Director for Programs and Operations

Community-Word Project

212-962-3820

leighflet@gmail.com

Melissa Gerstein

6463695247

mgerstein@nymer.org

Michelle Friedman

Head of Education and Academic Initiatives

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum

203-438-4519-146

mfriedman@aldrichart.org

Sarah Maldonado

Program Director

The Child Center of NY

sarah.grace.maldonado@gmail.com

Schuyler Schuler

New-York Historical Society

schuyler.schuler@nyhistory.org

Sierra Van Ryck DeGroot

Education Assistant

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum

7326180452

svanryckdegroot@aldrichart.org

Stephanie Zank

Educator

Museum of Chinese in America

626-632-4857

stephanieannand@gmail.com

Taylor Vecchio

Educator

Onassis Foundation

5166721674

tvecchio@voicesadvance.com

Zahra Ahmed

Manager of School Programs

(917) 409-1207

zahmed@nycmer.org