Member Spotlight:

Olivia

Olivia Kalin Museum Educator Wave Hill

Olivia is dedicated to offering museum visitors experiences that empower them to connect with art and nature on a personal level. While pursuing her master's degree in Art History and Art Museum Education at the City College of New York, Olivia is a Museum Educator at Wave Hill. In this role, she leads nature-based visits for schools and camp groups, and develops and leads two annual art-making workshop series and the summertime program Stories in the Garden. Prior to joining the Wave Hill team, Olivia was Curator of Education at the Neuberger Museum of Art, Purchase College, where she organized educational programs for audiences of all ages, managed and lead training workshops for a corps of over 60 docents, and lectured on museum education for several Purchase College classes. Prior to this position, Olivia worked with Robert Motherwell's Dedalus Foundation and the Museum of Modern Art's teen programs, where she began her training in museum education.  Olivia earned her BA in Art History and French from Drew University, and attended the Teaching Institute in Museum Education (TIME) at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago. She is currently NYCMER Ex-Officio.

NYCMER is a volunteer, non-profit organization, led by a board of trustees nominated by members to represent our diverse field.

 

Elections take place each spring and the results are announced at our annual conference in May. If you are interested in learning more about the board, please contact info@nycmer.org. Below is a list of the current Board members: 

 

Officers

President: Kinneret Kohn

Vice President: Kira Lacks

Secretary and Peer Group Liaison: Katie Henry

Treasurer: Erin Shaw´╗┐

 

Appointed Trustees

Archivist: Lacey Flint

Membership Coordinator: Sarah Maldonado

Resources and Social Media Coordinator: Rachel Ropeik

Website Coordinator: Akash Sharma

 

Trustees-at-Large

Charissa Ruth

Charlotte Martin

Claire Buckley

Daniel O'Shoney

Danielle Hillanbrand

Jennifer Patton

Leah Golubchick

Leigh Wells

Melissa Gerstein

Zahra Ahmed

 

 

Learn more about the board below:

 

Akash  Sharma

Daily Operations Specialist

New York Hall of Science

asharma@nysci.org

Charissa Ruth

Freelance Educator

8595528140

charissa.ruth@gmail.com

Charlotte Martin

Museum Educator for Access Programs

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

cmartin@intrepidmuseum.org

Claire Buckley

Conservation Educator

Prospect Park Zoo/Wildlife Conservation Society

(718) 399-7339-324

clairecbuckley@gmail.com

Daniel  O'Shoney

Coordinator of Professional Development

Wildlife Conservation Society

718-265-2671

doshoney@wcs.org

Danielle Hillanbrand

Student at Brooklyn College

3028417186

danihillud@gmail.com

Erin  Shaw

Coordinator of Youth Education Initiatives & BCAP

Brooklyn Public Library

718-230-2753

EShaw@bklynlibrary.org

Jennifer Patton

Educator

New-York Historical Society

6172568638

jpatton124@gmail.com

Katie Henry

School & Family Programs Manager

Friends of the High Line

katie.henry@thehighline.org

Kinneret Kohn

Manager of Teen Programs

New-York Historical Society

KKohn@nycmer.org

Kira Lacks

Public Programs Manager

American Museum of Natural History

klacks@nycmer.org

Lacey Flint

Archivist and Curator of Research Collections

The Explorers Club

212-628-8383-28

lflint@explorers.org

Leah Golubchick

After School Coordinator

Youth Initiatives at AMNH

212-496-3529

lgolubchick@amnh.org

Leigh Wells

Associate Director of Education

Museum of the Moving Image

718 777 6854

lwells@movingimage.us

Melissa Gerstein

Manager, Public Programs

Bard Graduate Center

2125013011

melissa.gerstein@bgc.bard.edu

Rachel Ropeik

Manager of Public Engagement

Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum

rropeik@guggenheim.org

Sarah Maldonado

American Museum of Natural History

Sarah.grace.maldonado@gmail.com

Zahra  Ahmed

Manager of School Programs

(917) 409-1207

zahmed@cmany.org