Member Spotlight:

Daniel

Daniel Pecoraro Education Program Coordinator The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History

Daniel Pecoraro is an Education Program Coordinator at the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History. At the Institute, he is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the Affiliate School Program, a network of over 18,000 K-12 schools worldwide, and coordinates monthly offerings to teachers, the Civil War Essay Contest for Grades 6-12, and the Dear George Washington Contest for grades 2-5. In addition, he coordinates the Institute's internship program for high school and college students, and as part of a team of four coordinates 30+ Gilder Lehrman Teacher Seminars each summer. 
 
Prior to joining the Gilder Lehrman Institute staff, he served as School Groups Coordinator and Member and Donor Relations Coordinator at the National Museum of Mathematics, including management of school trip series for Title I schools sponsored by Google, Con Edison, OppenheimerFunds, and Two Sigma Investments. Daniel is also a volunteer at Interference Archive in Brooklyn and serves as Co-Chair of NYCMER's Mentors and Intern Supervisors Peer Group.
 
A proud alumnus of the New York City public school system from Kindergarten through a Master's degree, Daniel earned his BA in History at Macaulay Honors College at Hunter College in 2014 and his MA in History at Hunter in 2017.

NYCMER is a volunteer, non-profit organization, led by a board of trustees nominated by members to represent our diverse field.

 

Elections take place each spring and the results are announced at our annual conference in May. If you are interested in learning more about the board, please contact info@nycmer.org. Below is a list of the current Board members: 

 

Officers

President: Charlotte Martin

president@nycmer.org

 

Vice President: Dawnette Samuels

vicepresident@nycmer.org

 

Secretary and Peer Group Liaison: Sierra Van Ryck deGroot

info@nycmer.org

 

Treasurer: Kira Lacks

treasurer@nycmer.org

 

Appointed Trustees

Archivist: Lacey Flint

archivist@nycmer.org

 

Membership Coordinator: Sarah Maldonado

membership@nycmer.org

 

Event and Job Listings Coordinator: Anthea Song

postings@nycmer.org

 

Resources and Social Media Coordinator: Araya Henry

resources@nycmer.org

 

Website Coordinator: Akash Sharma

web@nycmer.org

 

Trustees-at-Large

Edna Gonzales

Jamie Lawyer

Leah Golubchick

Leigh Wells

Melissa Gerstein

Michelle Friedman

Schuyler Schuler

Stephanie Zank

Taylor Vecchio

Zahra Ahmed

 

Learn more about the board below:

 

Akash Sharma

Daily Operations Specialist

New York Hall of Science

asharma@nysci.org

Anthea Song

Manager, Programs and Communications

anthea.song@gmail.com

Araya Henry

Museum Educator: Youth Programs

Hudson River Museum

ahenry@hrm.org

Charlotte Martin

Senior Manager of Access Initiatives

Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum

president@nycmer.org

Dawnette Samuels

Museum Educator

Rubin Museum of Art

dsamuels@rubinmuseum.org

Kira Lacks

Assistant Director of College Events

Teachers College, Columbia University

treasurer@nycmer.org

Lacey Flint

Archivist and Curator of Research Collections

The Explorers Club

212-628-8383-28

lflint@explorers.org

Leah Golubchick

Manager, Middle and High School Programs

American Museum of Natural History (YI)

212-496-3529

lgolubchick@amnh.org

Leigh  Wells

Deputy Director for Programs and Operations

Community-Word Project

212-962-3820

leighflet@gmail.com

Melissa Gerstein

6463695247

mgerstein@nycmer.org

Michelle Friedman

Head of Education and Academic Initiatives

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum

203-438-4519-146

mfriedman@aldrichart.org

Sarah Maldonado

Educational Consultant

sarah.grace.maldonado@gmail.com

Schuyler Schuler

New-York Historical Society

schuyler.schuler@nyhistory.org

Sierra Van Ryck DeGroot

Education Assistant

The Aldrich Contemporary Art Museum

7326180452

svanryckdegroot@aldrichart.org

Stephanie Zank

Educator

Museum of Chinese in America

626-632-4857

stephanieannand@gmail.com

Taylor Vecchio

Educator

Onassis Foundation

5166721674

tvecchio@voicesadvance.com

Zahra Ahmed

Manager of School Programs

(917) 409-1207

zahmed@nycmer.org